Name and Description
Social, Ethical and Legal Issues Committee

The Social, Ethical, and Legal Issues Committee shall be composed of such members as shall be appointed by the President based upon the recommendation of the chairperson of the committee. The committee shall consider and report to the Board of Directors on social and ethical issues which arise from or may impact upon the delivery of clinical genetics or laboratory genetics services. Such issues may include access to medical genetics services, informed consent, confidentiality, disclosure of genetic information to third parties, and discrimination based on genetic status. When appropriate, the committee shall study, evaluate, and prepare information for dissemination to members of the College or to the public, subject to approval by the Board of Directors.
Committee Members
Chair
Robert G. Best, PhD, MS, FACMG
Term: 2018 - 2020
Univ South Carolina Sch Med
USCSOM-Greenville Admin
Health Administration Bldg
Greenville, SC   29605
(864)455-9812
best@sc.edu
Vice Chair
Theresa A. Grebe, MD, FACMG
Term: 2018 - 2020
Phoenix Children's Hospital
1919 East Thomas Road
Div. of Genetics and Metabolism
Phoenix, AZ   85016-7710
(602) 933-4363
tgrebe@phoenixchildrens.com
Board Liaison
Lynn D. Fleisher, PhD, JD, FACMG
Term: 2009 - 2020
ACMG
641 W Willow St Apt 101
Chicago, IL   60614-5176
(312) 823-3809
ldfleisher@gmail.com
Board Liaison
Susan D. Klugman, MD, FACMG
Term: 2017 - 2021
Montefiore Medical Ctr
1695 Eastchester Rd Ste 301
Dept Obstetrics & Gynecology
Bronx, NY   10461-2375
(718) 405-8150
susanklugmanmd@gmail.com
Trainee Member
Jennifer N. Dines, MD
Term: 2017 - 2019
University of Washington Genetics Residency Program
1705 NE Pacific St # K253 # 357720
Seattle, WA   98195-0009

jendines@uw.edu
Staff
Meredith Weaver, PhD, ScM
Term: 2012 - 2020
American College of Medical Genetics and Genomics
7101 Wisconsin Avenue, Ste. 1101
Bethesda, MD   20814-4854
(301) 718-9603
mweaver@acmg.net
Member
Lisa C. Butterfield, MGC
Term: 2016 - 2020
Kansas University Medical Ctr.
Center for Advanced Fetal Care
3901 Rainbow Blvd. MS 2028
Kansas City, KS   66160-0001
(913) 588-6260
lbutterfield@kumc.edu
Member
Kari A. Casas, MD, FACMG
Term: 2016 - 2020
Sanford Health
737 Broadway North
Route 1220
Fargo, ND   58122
(701) 234-2362
kari.casas@sanfordhealth.org
Member
Margaret A. Chen, PhD, MS, FACMG
Term: 2018 - 2020
GeneDx
207 Perry Parkway
Gaithersburg, MD   20877
(301) 519-2100
chen0413@tc.umn.edu
Member
Leslie Manace, MD, FACMG
Term: 2015 - 2019
Kaiser Permanente Oakland Medical Center
275 W MacArthur Blvd
Department of Genetics
Oakland, CA   94611-5641
(510) 752-2029
leslie.manace@gmail.com
Member
Scott Topper, PhD, FACMG
Term: 2017 - 2019
INVITAE
458 Brannan St
San Francisco, CA   94107-1713
(773) 920-0710
setopper@gmail.com
Member
Matteo Vatta, PhD, FACMG
Term: 2018 - 2020
Invitae
1835 Jutland Dr
Carmel, IN   46032-8846
(281) 726-1565
matteovatta66@gmail.com