Name and Description
Economics of Genetic Services Committee

The Committee on the Economics of Genetic Services shall study and assess billing and reimbursement mechanisms for medical genetics services with the goals of (1) ensuring appropriate integration of genetics services into evolving national, state, and private health care schemes; (2) educating medical geneticists regarding appropriate procedures to be followed; and (3) maintaining and improving patient access to medical genetics services.
Committee Members
Chair
Matthew R. Fickie, MD, FACMG
Term: 2017 - 2019
Mount Auburn Hospital
300 Mount Auburn St Ste 302
Cambridge, MA   02138-5665
(617) 492-1625
mfickie@mah.harvard.edu
Vice Chair
Jone E. Sampson, MD, FACMG
Term: 2017 - 2019
Oregon Health Sci Univ
Dept Molecular & Medical Gen
3181 SW Sam Jackson Park Rd
Portland, OR   97239-3011
(503) 494-1771
sampsojo@ohsu.edu
Board Liaison
Robert D. Steiner, MD, FACMG
Term: 2015 - 2019
University of Wisconsin
M220 Fox Fire Ln
Marshfield, WI   54449-8300
(715) 650-3030
RDSTeiner111@gmail.com
Staff
David B. Flannery, MD, FACMG
Term: 2014 - 2020
American College of Medical Genetics and Genomics
7101 Wisconsin Avenue, Ste. 1101
Bethesda, MD   20814-4854
(301) 718-9603
dflannery@acmg.net
Member
Paldeep S. Atwal, MBBS, FACMG
Term: 2017 - 2019
Mayo Clinic
4500 San Pablo Road S
Jacksonville, FL   32224-1865
(650) 248-0660
paldeep.atwal@gmail.com
Member
Shaochun Bai, PhD, FACMG
Term: 2017 - 2019
Detroit Medical Center
Kresge Campus
4201 Saint Antoine St
Detroit, MI   48201
(313) 993-0223
sbai@dmc.org
Member
Melissa K. Bennett, MS
Term: 2015 - 2019
eviCore healthcare
400 Buckwalter Place Blvd
Bluffton, SC   29910
(919) 599-8810
mbennett@carecorenational.com
Member
Julie M. Gastier-Foster, PhD, FACMG
Term: 2015 - 2019
Nationwide Children's Hosp
575 Children's Crossroad, WB 2271
Columbus, OH   43205-2664
(614) 722-2866
gastierj@ccri.net
Member
Kay Jewell, MD
Term: 2014 - 2018
Tara Center LLC
2801 Marthas Ln
Stevens Point, WI   54481-4812
(715) 345-1905
kayjewellmd@gmail.com
Member
Catherine Karimov, MD, FACMG
Term: 2017 - 2019
Children's Hospital of Los Angeles
4650 W Sunset Blvd #90
Los Angeles, CA   90027-6062
(323) 361-2178
ckarimov@chla.usc.edu
Member
Michael Marble, MD, FACMG
Term: 2015 - 2019
Louisiana State Univ. Health Sciences Center
Pediatrics
200 Henry Clay Avenue
New Orleans, LA   70118-5720
(504) 896-9254
mmarbl1@lsuhsc.edu
Member
Kristin M. May, PhD, MS, FACMG
Term: 2017 - 2019
Children's Hospital at Erlanger
Genetic Diagnostic Laboratory
910 Blackford St, Ste 401 MPB
Chattanooga, TN   37403
(423) 778-6640
kristin.may@erlanger.org
Member
Cheryl S. Reid, MD, FACMG
Term: 2015 - 2019
Aetna Better Health of NJ
5 Eaglebrook Ct
Moorestown, NJ   08057-2137
(856) 802-9478
csreidmd@comcast.net
Member
Joseph J. Shen, MD, PhD, FACMG
Term: 2017 - 2019
UCSF - Fresno
Genetic Medicine
Fresno, CA   93701
(559) 459-2269
jshen@fresno.ucsf.edu